Troy’s checklist for preparing for the CCNA: Objective 8

July 31, 2009 at 2:09 pm | Posted in Cisco | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

Thanks for returning for the final installment of my review checklist for the CCNA exam. In this session we will cover the topics included in Objective 8: Implement and Verify WAN links.  Let’s get started!

You should be able to describe the differences between the categories of data transfer between physical locations. These include:

  • Cell switching – Cell switching is a WAN switching technology that is used by ATM. ATM is an International Telecommunication Union-Telecommunications (ITU-T) standard for the transmission of data, voice, or video traffic. It uses a fixed size frame of 53 bytes, known as cells. Out of these 53 bytes, the initial five bytes are header information and the rest of the 48 bytes are the payload.
  • Packet switching – Packet switching is popularly used for data transfer, as data is not delay-sensitive like voice traffic is, and it does not require real-time transfer from a sender to a receiver. With packet switching, the data is broken into labeled packets and transmitted using packet-switching networks.
  • Circuit switching – Circuit switching dynamically establishes a virtual connection between a source and destination. The virtual connection cannot be used by other callers unless the circuit is released. Circuit switching is the most common method used by the Public Switched Telephone Network (PSTN) to make phone calls. A dedicated circuit is temporarily established for the duration of call between caller and receiver. Once the caller or receiver hangs up the phone, the circuit is released and is available for other users.

You should how to configure a serial link for a WAN connection. Make sure that you know how to use these commands: Continue Reading Troy’s checklist for preparing for the CCNA: Objective 8…

CompTIA A+ exams 220-601 through 220-604 to be replaced by 220-701, 702

July 31, 2009 at 7:57 am | Posted in Certification Paths, CompTIA | 10 Comments
Tags: ,

CompTIA is revising and re-consolidating their flagship entry-level exam, the A+. We anticipate that the 2009 exam versions will be released some time in August (no firm date yet, but we’ll post it here as soon as we know it). The NEW exams will be:

Meanwhile, the existing 2006 A+ exams (220-601, -602, -603, -604) will remain available to test-takers until staggered dates in 2010.  As of Jan-12-2010, those dates are February 28, 2010 in the U.S., Canada and South Africa (English language version), and August 31, 2010 in the U.K., Australia and New Zealand (English language version). The educational versions of these exams (JK0-601, JK0-602, JK0-603 and JK0-604), as well as the German, Korean, Arabic, Chinese and Japanese translations of the 220-601 through 220-604 CompTIA A+ exams, will remain in the market for use until August 31, 2010.

If you’ve been studying the 2006 objectives, you can take those exams before your country’s expiration date and have a valid, current certification.  If you were previously certified in A+ under the 2006 or earlier versions, you can take the all-in-one upgrade Bridge exam, BR0-003, to re-certify under the 2009 objectives.

We’re busy developing our own practice exams for the 220-70* exams — look for those in the third quarter of the year.

ETA 9/30/09: The new release dates for our practice exams are October 25 for 220-701 and November 6 for 220-702.

Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: